1. Due to issues with external spam filters, QQ is currently unable to send any mail to Microsoft E-mail addresses. This includes any account at live.com, hotmail.com or msn.com. Signing up to the forum with one of these addresses will result in your verification E-mail never arriving. For best results, please use a different E-mail provider for your QQ address.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For prospective new members, a word of warning: don't use common names like Dennis, Simon, or Kenny if you decide to create an account. Spammers have used them all before you and gotten those names flagged in the anti-spam databases. Your account registration will be rejected because of it.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Since it has happened MULTIPLE times now, I want to be very clear about this. You do not get to abandon an account and create a new one. You do not get to pass an account to someone else and create a new one. If you do so anyway, you will be banned for creating sockpuppets.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. If you wish to change your username, please ask via conversation to tehelgee instead of asking via my profile. I'd like to not clutter it up with such requests.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Due to the actions of particularly persistent spammers and trolls, we will be banning disposable email addresses from today onward.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. A note about the current Ukraine situation: Discussion of it is still prohibited as per Rule 8
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The rules regarding NSFW links have been updated. See here for details.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The testbed for the QQ XF2 transition is now publicly available. Please see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice

Mouseover effects not working

Discussion in 'Suggestions & Bugs' started by Dreadis, Nov 19, 2019.

  1. Dreadis

    Dreadis No idea whats going on

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    2,265
    Basically the problem is I'm not triggering mouse over effects or some reason. I first noticed it wasn't triggering the alerts drop down. But I went on a hunt for new content today and it realized its not pulling up the thread previews when hovering over a thread title.

    Using the current version of firefox on windows
     
  2. Biigoh

    Biigoh Primordial Tanuki Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    28,458
    Likes Received:
    112,112
    alethiophile? tehelgee?

    It sounds like it might be an add on or an extension or a security setting on your firefox as I'm using the current version of firefox on windows 10 without any issue.
     
  3. tehelgee

    tehelgee The stern gaze of justice. Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    12,700
    We haven't changed anything at all. If it suddenly stopped working, it's something on your end. Perhaps the recent update to Firefox broke an extension or addon? I'm on Windows 7 with the newest Firefox and it's working just fine.
     
  4. Dreadis

    Dreadis No idea whats going on

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    2,265
    I'm only using ublock orgin and tampermonkey with a single script that effects QQ

    Code:
    // ==UserScript==
    // @name		  Invisible text revealer
    // @namespace	 http://dreadis.local/
    // @description   Reveals invisible text on forums
    // @match		 https://forums.sufficientvelocity.com/*
    // @include	   https://forums.sufficientvelocity.com/*
    // @match		 https://forums.spacebattles.com/*
    // @include	   https://forums.spacebattles.com/*
    // @match		 https://forum.questionablequesting.com/*
    // @include	   https://forum.questionablequesting.com/*
    // @match		 https://forum.questionablequesting.com/*
    // @include	   https://forum.questionablequesting.com/*
    // @version	   0.2.1
    // @grant		 none
    // ==/UserScript==
     
    function iterate_spans() {
    	var spans = document.getElementsByTagName('span');
    	for(var i=0;i<spans.length;i++) {
    		span = spans[i];
    		if(span.style.color.toLowerCase() == 'transparent') {
    			span.className += ' invisitext';
    			span.style.color = null;
    		}
    	}
    }
     
    function add_new_css() {
    	var node = document.createElement('style');
    	css = '.invisitext { border: 1px dotted red; color: transparent }';
    	css += '.invisitext { color: red }';
    	node.textContent = css;
    	document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0].appendChild(node);
    }
     
    function main() {
    	add_new_css();
    	iterate_spans();
    }
     
    main();

    Ive tried it without them running and it still doesn't work. do you know of any of the browser settings that might break it? or maybe windows(10) settings?


    Just thought to test. the mouseover effects work fine on my other computer running ublock orgin and greasemonkey with the same script.


    Edit. only difference in browser settings was one security setting on the problem computer that was set more strict. dropped it down to match my other and restarted the browser. no change.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  5. tehelgee

    tehelgee The stern gaze of justice. Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    12,700
    Alethiophile might have an idea, but I don't beyond that. :/
     
  6. alethiophile

    alethiophile Shadowed Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,610
    Likes Received:
    53,691
    Yeah, this sounds like a client-side issue that I can't really help with.
     
  7. Selias

    Selias Well worn.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    17,662
    Any other add-ons, or are ublock orgin and tampermonkey the only ones you have?
     
  8. MissileTeatime

    MissileTeatime By the power of Vaporware!

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    5,915
    Feh...
    Something something, touch screen detection. You're having this problem on Firefox on Windows 10. Is the other computer, on which you're not having this problem, running something other than Windows 10?

    I remember SV/SB running into a superficially similar problem with Chrome, and the issue turned out to be Chrome was always assuming a touchscreen. (I think there might have been other factors interacting? But I'm not sure without looking.)
     
    january1may likes this.