Jorlem
Versed in the lewd.
- Joined
- Dec 28, 2014
- Messages
- 1,693
- Likes received
- 14,155
Copying the suggestion that I made over on SB, as it is just as relevant here, possibly more so.
Youtube relatively recently added a new feature where if someone gets a link to share a video via the "Share" button, it connects the Youtube accounts of whoever clicks on that link with the Youtube account of whoever posted the link. After that, whenever the second person clicks the Share button to generate a link, they will have an option in the Share menu to send that link to the account of the first person. There doesn't currently appear to be a way of removing other people's accounts from one's Share menu other than blocking them. I don't know if it goes both ways, that is, if it informs the person who posted the link of the account names of everyone who clicks the link. This is not (easily) turned off in Youtube's settings, and cannot be completely disabled. (The setting to turn it off only appears to be accessible via the mobile app for some reason, and that only helps for links you post, not links you click on.)
Youtube does this by appending a string that starts "?is=" to the end of the shared URL.
I would like to request/suggest that QQ strip out that part of the URL when embedding Youtube links.
This would be nice on my end, as it would help prevent my Share button from getting clogged up with links to accounts of people I don't know, and would prevent people from unintentionally sharing their Youtube account names, which are very often the same as their gmail accounts. Also, given what QQ is for, I wouldn't be surprised if there are some people who don't want their QQ account to be associated with their Youtube account (and potentially their email address), and don't know that Youtube added this "feature".
Youtube relatively recently added a new feature where if someone gets a link to share a video via the "Share" button, it connects the Youtube accounts of whoever clicks on that link with the Youtube account of whoever posted the link. After that, whenever the second person clicks the Share button to generate a link, they will have an option in the Share menu to send that link to the account of the first person. There doesn't currently appear to be a way of removing other people's accounts from one's Share menu other than blocking them. I don't know if it goes both ways, that is, if it informs the person who posted the link of the account names of everyone who clicks the link. This is not (easily) turned off in Youtube's settings, and cannot be completely disabled. (The setting to turn it off only appears to be accessible via the mobile app for some reason, and that only helps for links you post, not links you click on.)
Youtube does this by appending a string that starts "?is=" to the end of the shared URL.
I would like to request/suggest that QQ strip out that part of the URL when embedding Youtube links.
This would be nice on my end, as it would help prevent my Share button from getting clogged up with links to accounts of people I don't know, and would prevent people from unintentionally sharing their Youtube account names, which are very often the same as their gmail accounts. Also, given what QQ is for, I wouldn't be surprised if there are some people who don't want their QQ account to be associated with their Youtube account (and potentially their email address), and don't know that Youtube added this "feature".