1. For prospective new members, a word of warning: don't use common names like Dennis, Simon, or Kenny if you decide to create an account. Spammers have used them all before you and gotten those names flagged in the anti-spam databases. Your account registration will be rejected because of it.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Since it has happened MULTIPLE times now, I want to be very clear about this. You do not get to abandon an account and create a new one. You do not get to pass an account to someone else and create a new one. If you do so anyway, you will be banned for creating sockpuppets.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. If you wish to change your username, please ask via conversation to tehelgee instead of asking via my profile. I'd like to not clutter it up with such requests.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Due to the actions of particularly persistent spammers and trolls, we will be banning disposable email addresses from today onward.
    Dismiss Notice

Styling requests

Discussion in 'Suggestions & Bugs' started by alethiophile, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. End of Line

    End of Line I trust you know where the happy button is?

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    2,244
    Apologies for posting again. I had forgotten to tag alethiophile/the OP so I wasn't sure if my previous post had been noticed or not.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  2. arthurh3535

    arthurh3535 [Writer]

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    417
    Thank you guys for the reader mode!
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  3. Gharr

    Gharr This is not my real name

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    409
    Maybe here would be appropriate place to ask. That in nsfw image threads every image is hidden under a spoiler is annoying, so I disabled spoiler tags using "Stylish" add-on for FF, overriding CSS with this snip:
    Code:
    .hasJs .bbCodeSpoilerText
    {
    display: block;
    padding: 5px;
    margin-top: 5px;
    margin-bottom: 5px;
    border: 1px solid rgb(177, 177, 177);
    box-shadow: 0 0 5px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.1);
    }
    However, while they are now opened by default, the images are being loaded only I scroll the page to them, instead of right from the start, any idea on why this is so?
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  4. Nekraa

    Nekraa Nekraa Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,019
    Likes Received:
    20,183
    Aren't we using... "lazy images" or something like that? So that images loads first when the screen is over/at them, or something like that.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  5. Gharr

    Gharr This is not my real name

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    409
    Dagnabbit... Well, the loading wouldn't be bad, if the image would reserve an empty space for itself, instead of suddenly stretching the page as it begins to load.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  6. alethiophile

    alethiophile Shadowed Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4,892
    Likes Received:
    24,105
    If you can add user scripts somehow, then there'd be a pretty trivial oneliner to load all images immediately, along the lines of:

    Code:
    $('img.lazyload').each(function () {
      $(this).attr('src', $(this).attr('data-src'));
    }
    (Try that with console open, to make sure I didn't make a dumb typo.)
     
    Ddmkm122 and evildice like this.
  7. MissileTeatime

    MissileTeatime By the power of Vaporware!

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    The above is also the case on "Dark Responsive (Green)". It's not a big issue for me, but thought I'd throw it in as a data point.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  8. rkyeun

    rkyeun Cabbitus Maximus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3,193
    I would like to request more themes, if this is the right place to request that. I'm currently using Dark Responsive (Green) because it's fullwidth and doesn't glare on me, but I'm not happy with how dark it is. I use colors a lot in my work. I don't want to go full light mode, but I want something which black, white, full saturation full value colors, and full saturation half value colors, and several grays are legible on.
    Something like this would be more my style.
     
    Ddmkm122 and Legume like this.
  9. tehelgee

    tehelgee The stern gaze of justice. Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,850
    Likes Received:
    11,271
    We don't have any stylists(people that handle installation and editing of themes) right now, so no new themes, I'm afraid.
     
    Ddmkm122 and rkyeun like this.
  10. rkyeun

    rkyeun Cabbitus Maximus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3,193
    What does it take to become a stylist?
     
    Ddmkm122 and Legume like this.
  11. tehelgee

    tehelgee The stern gaze of justice. Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,850
    Likes Received:
    11,271
    Basically, volunteer for it and have knowledge of css. We've been without any for a while now, so any volunteers would need to be prepared for getting overwhelmed with requests. :p
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  12. rkyeun

    rkyeun Cabbitus Maximus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    3,193
    Cool, cool. I'll see if I can learn me some CSS. -_-
     
  13. Kitty S. Lillian

    Kitty S. Lillian Transhuman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    279
    Encadre, too, has style issues, being black-on-dark for me (in Blackend-Purple).
    Text box:
    Sample.


    Request, of course, being to make it light-on-dark like most text already is in this theme.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  14. doug89

    doug89 I trust you know where the happy button is?

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    7,484
    I'm not sure if this can be changed with styling, if not I may make a new thread.

    When you select text you get the option to either reply immediately or save it for a later reply ('+ Quote | Reply').

    If you select text in a locked thread this pop up doesn't appear. Makes sense that 'Reply' wouldn't appear, but '+ Quote' is useful for gathering quotes for other threads.

    I was hoping that '+ Quote' could be made available for locked threads.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  15. evildice

    evildice (Verified d4)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    26,079
    This is a great idea, but yeah as you say it's probably not a styling thing.
     
    Ddmkm122, doug89 and january1may like this.
  16. r6winfero

    r6winfero Know what you're doing yet?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    592
    Is there any theme here that makes the pagecount links appear as "always-on" rather than "on mouse hover"?
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  17. macdjord

    macdjord Well worn.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    12,591
    If by 'pagecount links' you mean [< Prev] [1] [2] [3] ... [23] [24] [25] [Go to First Unread], then Blackend-Green makes them visible at all times.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  18. r6winfero

    r6winfero Know what you're doing yet?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    592
    Yeah, that's it.

    Blackend-Green doesn't work tho. It still only appears on mouse hover.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  19. MissileTeatime

    MissileTeatime By the power of Vaporware!

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    I'm using "Dark Responsive (Green)" and they show for me. I checked "Blackened-Green" and they show for me there, too, though. Browser/user-side thing? I'm using a touchscreen, although Dark Responsive behaved the same last time I was on desktop Firefox.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  20. r6winfero

    r6winfero Know what you're doing yet?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    592
    Ah, it seems that I've misunderstood. Apologies.

    The "pagecount links" are these bold underlined links, which have to be hovered over to be seen on QQ:

    On spacebattles, these links do not need to be hovered to be seen:

    On desktop Firefox, with "Dark Responsive (Green)" and "Blackened-Green", these links only show up on hover. Which is a bit different from what I was used to.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  21. evildice

    evildice (Verified d4)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    26,079
    Light Responsive seems to show those.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  22. r6winfero

    r6winfero Know what you're doing yet?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    592
    Hey, it works! Forgot the default setting, lol.

    It's kinda bright though, I'll give the other themes a try.

    Edit:
    Welp, seems like every theme other than "Light Responsive" has the links only appear on hover.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
    Ddmkm122 and MissileTeatime like this.
  23. MissileTeatime

    MissileTeatime By the power of Vaporware!

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Oh those.

    Those also show up for me on a big enough touchscreen, but that seems to be an intentional change to behavior for touchscreens from what I've seen.
     
    Ddmkm122 likes this.
  24. Imperceptus Ingenium

    Imperceptus Ingenium Know what you're doing yet?

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    321
    Would it be possible to add a text size changer for the site itself (Space Battles has one)?
    Also, the default theme hides the alerts on mobile, is there a way to fix that?

    Just asking
     
    arthurh3535 likes this.
  25. alethiophile

    alethiophile Shadowed Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4,892
    Likes Received:
    24,105
    Best I've got for this is to zoom in using the browser functionality.

    This is a bug if it's happening, but last I recall they were working fine. Can you post a screenshot?